Here at ICC Port Charlotte, we believe that our patients should be as knowledgeable as possible when it comes to medical marijuana. Here are a handful of our most frequently-asked questions, with answers given by our expert team.
Cannabis contains components called ‘cannabinoids’ which react with the human body’s endocannabinoid system – mostly located in the nervous and immune systems. Cannabinoids bind to these human receptors in hopes of reaching homeostasis (balancing out the system) and creating a therapeutic effect on the body.
Approved conditions include cancer, glaucoma, epilepsy, PTSD, HIV/AIDS, ALS, Crohn’s Disease, Parkinson’s Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, chronic pain, and medical conditions similar. Check Iona Cannabis Clinic Qualifying Conditions
Amendment 2 allows certified medical marijuana doctors to recommend the use of medical marijuana if a person is suffering from symptoms that are similar to those of a qualified condition.
You may be qualified to use medical marijuana if you are diagnosed with anxiety, depression, insomnia, muscle spasms, seizures, nausea, nerve pain, menstrual pain, arthritis, diabetes, loss of appetite, spasticity, fibromyalgia, and more.
The initial appointment takes anywhere from 45 minutes to an hour, as time varies between patients. This accounts for the time spent with the physician and the time needed to fill out necessary documents.
State Bill 8A removed the 90-day wait time for patients to get certified, but your supporting documents and medical history records must be included in your chart before our physicians can make recommendations.
As of right now, medical marijuana treatment is still prohibited under federal law, which means we can’t accept insurance, Medicare, or Medicaid.
The initial certification costs $200, as do the recertifications that occur every 7 months.
As a Florida resident, you must provide a valid driver’s license or a state ID card issued by the state of Florida.
Seasonal residents are allowed to acquire a medical marijuana card in Florida if they reside in the state for at least 31 consecutive days within a calendar year, and they are registered to vote or pay income taxes in another state.
To prove your seasonal residency, you may provide a deed, mortgage, residential rent/lease agreement, a utility bill newer than 2 months old, mail from a financial institution newer than 2 months old, or one of our many other options. Contact our office to learn more.
Yes. After SB182 was signed on March 18, 2019, patients are allowed to smoke medical marijuana.
Being equipped with the necessary information is a major component of using medical marijuana wisely. Get in touch with our office at ICC Port Charlotte if you have further questions.